Types of Lymphoma Cancer To Be Aware Of

- Advertisement -

Although you might previously have heard about lymphoma cancer and its symptoms, you might not know much about the different types. However, it’s vital that you know the difference between them so you can understand any diagnosis that you receive and so you’re aware of where these different types of lymphoma might be located. Then, here’s a quick guide to the types of lymphoma cancer that you might encounter in your life. 


What is lymphoma cancer?

Lymphoma cancer is cancer in your lymph nodes, which are located in your groin, neck, armpits, and under your jaw and chin. This type of cancer is normally spotted due to lumps in these areas, or other symptoms, such as fatigue, a high temperature, weight loss, or night sweats, which are some of the most common signs of a lot of types of cancer. 

Most types of lymphoma cancer have a high survival rate if they’re found and treated quickly, and can develop in both children and adults. This means that it’s important that you’re aware of the different types at any age so you can visit the doctor if you’re worried about any symptoms that you’re experiencing. 

If you want to find out more about lymphoma, you should research ‘What is lymphoma?’ on the internet, and there are many online guides from charities that might be able to help you learn more. 

What are the two main types? 

The two main types of lymphoma cancer that you need to be aware of are Hodgkins and Non-Hodgkins lymphoma. In both Hodgkins and Non-Hodgkins lymphoma, white blood cells will grow in unusual patterns and can develop into cancerous tumours. The difference between non-Hodgkins lymphoma and Hodgkin’s lymphoma is the type of lymphocyte, or type of white blood cell that has grown irregularly. If Reed-Sternberg lymphocytes are involved, you have Hodgkin’s lymphoma, and, if not, you have non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Hodgkin’s lymphoma is less common than non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. 

Is it low grade or high grade?

However, this isn’t the end when it comes to the different types of lymphoma. You can either get low-grade or high-grade lymphoma, which depends on how fast the tumours are growing and spreading. If you have low-grade lymphoma, the cancer will grow at a slower pace and need different treatment than high-grade lymphoma, which needs stronger and faster treatment for it to be effective. 

There are also many different types of low-grade and high-grade lymphomas depending on where they’re located and how aggressive they are. For instance, if you have non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, this could be follicular lymphoma, diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, Burkitt lymphoma, or angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma, among others. However, if you have Hodgkin’s lymphoma, you might have classic lymphoma, which again there are different types of, or nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma, where there’ll be a smaller amount of Reed-Sternberg lymphocytes present. It’s important that you know what type of cancer you have as this could affect your symptoms, the potential outcomes, and your treatment options


Author Bio: Alex is an avid traveller who is also passionate about education, medicine, the great outdoors and animal welfare.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here